Expert
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Portable BBQ

G'day guys,

So I'm on a mission to buy a bbq that'll do a better job than our current little butane gas job. Everyone seems to think that a Baby Q is the way to go but my wife says she doesn't want one for a few reasons, mostly it just isn't very friendly for fitting the maximum amount of gear into the patrol.

She is wanting something like this:
    http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Gasmate-Adventurer-Portable-BBQ.aspx?pid=368130&menuFrom=571613#Recommendation s

I don't have any problem with it except that I could probably bend the hotplate with my bare hands if I tried hard enough. Doesn't seem conducive to good even cooking (I was a chef in an earlier life (haha, at 27 I have an 'earlier life!'...))

Wondering if anyone has any other thoughts other than building a thicker hotplate for that bbq?

I'm looking for something that runs on gas, has a decent hotplate, folds down as flat as practicable, etc.

Thanks guys.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Patrol Guru
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got one of these a bit over a year ago.

http://www.anacondastores.com/campin...e/p/BP90005376

Best stove I've ever purchased. Never fails me. Can use small canisters as shown in the pic, or a bigger bottle (I take the 9kg away on longer trips).

Great heat output from it, if anything trying to get it on a low temp can be a bit fiddly to get them even. Electric start, packs up easy, and the griddle thing packs up inside too. Mine's been in all sorts of conditions and is yet to let me down. Keep an eye out for their sales. We got ours for around $150 from memory. It packs up flat so it's easy enough to store as well, much more space friendly than the Baby Q.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Throbbinhood For This Useful Post:

michaelgreeny (14th January 2016)

Thanks
    Thanked 4,716 Times in 2,491 Posts
    Mentioned