Mentioned
    48 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Battery with solar vs dual battery

As per Ronin post.

What are your thoughts/ideas on this.
    12/97 GEE YOU
    4.5lt Gas blower. Lots of mods to come.....all in good time.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 20,715 Times in 8,559 Posts
    Mentioned
    579 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jay see View Post
    As per Ronin post. What are your thoughts/ideas on this.
    both unfortunately mate, both!

You have two types of camping which is touring and boys weekends of driving each day where the dual battery system is essential and the family long stay camping trips where you are set up for many days.

I have been camping on the Murray for many years for weeks on end and watch people drive around in circles and sit their cars idling for hours every year to charge their second battery off the alternator.

The master farter
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,261 Times in 6,427 Posts
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yeah i got both, in the car and in the camper. If you rely on battery power, you need a charging source other than an alternator in my opinion.

Sent from my SM-P600 using Tapatalk

5. The Following User Says Thank You to mudski For This Useful Post:

threedogs (16th October 2015)

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if someone is driving everyday then the crank battery is getting charged by the alternator.. with out depleting to dangerous levels ?

although I am still working on my setup , so I could end up like one of those ideling up to charge the second battery or end up with a flat crank battery

Quote Originally Posted by Ronin View Post
    PROs

- Simplicity: no mucking around as its easy DIY (dont need auto leccy)