OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Anyone used OBD2?

  1. #1
    Beginner s007benji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Australia NSW
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Anyone used OBD2?

    Hey all,
    So im interested in servicing my own vehicle. I just got a 2002 Nissan Patrol DX. I was wondering if anyone has used the OBD2 protocol and connected their 4x4 to the laptop to see whats going on if they got an engine light or something? I am very new to this so sorry if this doesnt make too much sense. Appreciate any feedback if possible .

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    Rotaredom NissanGQ4.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lower Blue Mountains
    Posts
    10,593
    Thanks
    6,019
    Thanked 4,841 Times in 3,210 Posts
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't as I have a GQ, but have connected to the GQ's consult port using a laptop, most on here use a Scangauge ( http://scangauge.com.au/ ) or similar in their GU's rather than connecting a laptop.

    There are more discussions on this sorta of stuff here: http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forum...rd-Diagnostics

    Cheers

    Toddie
    Time is never wasted when your wasted all the time



    WARNING: Towballs used for recoveries can, and do kill people and damage property.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to NissanGQ4.2 For This Useful Post:

    s007benji (14th March 2015)

  5. #3
    Patrol Freak garett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    south of the boarder
    Posts
    1,065
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 706 Times in 450 Posts
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yeah but different systems are different... plug into the obd2 socket and turn on ignition, cant tell you how to navigate but should have a scan or fault code section , will give u a number and a description. number should be like P0114 look up the code,
    if its worth doin its worth over doin

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to garett For This Useful Post:

    s007benji (14th March 2015)

  7. #4
    Beginner s007benji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Australia NSW
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cheers guys. Yes i have seen the scangauge in my searches so i will have to give it a look .

  8. #5
    Patrol God threedogs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melb
    Posts
    31,638
    Thanks
    10,350
    Thanked 9,962 Times in 7,394 Posts
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    You will need an ECU-TALK for the earlier GU's scan gauges are for the CRD.
    Contact Peter from ecu-talk "peter@ecutalk.com.au, price is about $250
    Attached Images Attached Images
    04 ST 3lt auto, not enough Mods to keep me happy, but getting there

  9. #6
    Expert pollenface's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    295
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 137 Times in 102 Posts
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a $7 bluetooth OBD2 dongle from ebay and pair it with the Torque app on my android phone. It has the ability to clear fault codes and what not.

    2007+ uses OBD2 protocols
    Last edited by pollenface; 18th January 2020 at 11:38 AM.
    2008 CRD Auto Wagon
    Factory snorkel, flashlube catchcan pro, 3" manta exhaust, hpd boost controller, dyno-tuned & egr deleted, 2x dual batt systems, 3 batteries, arb bullbar, cheap HIDs, stock lift/tyres, rear helper airbags

  10. #7
    Expert Cremulator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    1,707
    Thanked 616 Times in 282 Posts
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pollenface View Post
    2007+ uses OBD2 protocols
    Yes, I only realised this after buying a ScanGauge II before taking delivery of my 2004 TD42. I didn't research it enough and thought 2004 models would use OBD2.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •