Thread: Rooftop tent, genuine nissan roof rack

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Rooftop tent, genuine nissan roof rack

Hi guys just a quick question I am very new to 4wd and just purchased a 2014 titanium edition that has the nissan roof racks, (alloy heavy duty rhino rack style) I am expecting a adventure kings roof top tent in the mail any day now and was wondering if the tent will bolt straight to the roof racks or if anyone else has this roof rack/tent set up, the bloke on the phone said yes but been doing a bit of research and a few people are saying no, the missus and I are about to go on a Christmas road trip and the tent is pretty important just seeking any advice, thanks in advance

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 4,717 Times in 2,491 Posts
    Mentioned
    31 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry mate it will depend on how the tent mounts to the rack, i have a mesh base on my rack and my tent has bolts and plates to go under the mesh to hold the tent down, the bolt goes thru the plate on the underside of the rack and bolts to the bottom of the tent and can be fitted anywhere on the rack.
    2003 gu3 td42tdi sold 😞 bloody gvm towing crap. Bt50 3500kg gvm.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,037 Times in 846 Posts
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Matt,

Here are a few things to consider .....

I bolt my mounting plates around the tubes on the RoofRack, rather than just the mesh .... although it depends on the type of mesh you have. I have seen the thinner mesh disintegrate from the dips and corrugations.

You will be able to bolt your tent to the Rhino Rack bars, and that will work as long as the bolts are long enough to go around the bar itself, which the standard ones supplied will most probably be that fraction too short..