Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whats best, Bearings, Guides or Wood for Drawers

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Whats best, Bearings, Guides or Wood for Drawers

Im heading out tomorrow to buy my plywood for my draw plans ive been working on, the only decision I have left is to go either Bearings, Guides, or simply wood.

If I do wood me Mrs will be upset cos she recons she will get sick of dragging them in and out, and since Ive shown her rollers shes fairly certain its what she wants

Below are my thoughts and please note this is my first build and experience with drawers so it all only IMO and open for your thoughts to add any pros or cons

Bearings
    Pros,
    Slide like roller blades
    stronger?

Cons
    Can rust
    Dirt,Dust,water,
    Noisy
    More pieces (Breakdown)
    Hard to fix,replace
    Space consuming
    Heavier

Guides
    Pros
    Thinner than roller bearings
    Easily replacable
    Lighter in weight
    Self locking (if wanted)
    Can use for fridge slides
    Can mount under drawer not just sides

Cons
    many cheap brands
    Not as strong as Bearings ??

Well there's my quick thoughts feel free to throw yours in, Id be interested to see what other pros cons there are

Cheers

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 4,611 Times in 3,108 Posts
    Mentioned
    43 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depends on your budget.
    My draws use sorta a half way idea. It's a complete 12mm ply wood system but the draws run on a nylon type product called uhmw. A thin peice attached to the draw, then another to the frame. Slides like butter, no oil needed, and my draws fill 98% or the frame unlike rolled where you need a 16-20mm gap.
    It's all detailed in my draw build
    Cheers
    Kallen Westbrook

4. The Following User Says Thank You to BigRAWesty For This Useful Post:

Smoothrun (24th September 2014)

Thanks
    Thanked 9,963 Times in 7,394 Posts
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)