Thread: GQ leaf sprung ute to coil wagon chassis conversion

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

GQ leaf sprung ute to coil wagon chassis conversion

G'day guys I know there is probably threads on this somewhere on here but I'm still learning how to use the forum and my search didn't really help out much. I have a gq ute td42 which is leaf all round and I have a wagon which is obviously coil all around. The wagon chassis is immaculate but the body is rough. (What do you expect when you paid 600 bucks for the whole car I guess.) the wagon has a tb42 petty in it. My plan is to do a clean swap of engines body and drivelines. Therefore turning my ute into a coil cab. Can anyone tell me how this will go with passing a roadworthy etc. obviously I need a blue plate but will I get one without any worries? (Qld) also will the td engine bolt in where the tb engine went without having to change mounts? Is there anything else I should be particularly worried about? I know about the guards off the ute not fitting on the front due to the shock tower so I will be using the wagon ones. And I know I will need to modify the rear body mounts to suit the tray. Any help will be greatly appreciated because I want to get it done with as little drama as possible. Thank you

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 13,494 Times in 6,598 Posts
    Mentioned
    330 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It should be pretty straight forward mate.

There is a cople of threads worth watching, our member BloodyAussie is just about to do the engine swap in this thread

http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forum...sel-conversion

The cab swap should be easy enough but I don't know the QLD issues, should be simple though.

Good luck, take heaps of pics and do a build thread for us mate, keen to see the progress.
    Its a Nissan! =====> Its a Keeper!! ....... Got a TD42 in it BONUS!! ....... I'm a lucky bugger! I've got 2 of em!