Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Turbo on a 1988 TD42

Hey Guys

Ok, so today i just purchased my second Nissan patrol, its a 1988 TD42 GQ wagon. it has 408kms on the clock, 2inch lift, dual batteries, snorkel, bullbar, roof rack & a thompson winch. Was driving it around and i noticed that, even unladen, its a bit sluggish on the hills. i was thinking a turbo kit may improve on this problem. I have little mechcanical knowledge, although my father has 40 years worth, and thus i am looking for a turbo kit that is economical on the hip pocket, easy to install and give me a bit of extra boost when climbing. I have done some browsing online and i like the DTS kit, although the safari one also seems nice. Could anyone reccommend a kit that fits these criteria?

the second part of this question is about intercoolers, are they nesscary, do they offer any significant improvement to performance given the cost of them. If i were to get one, i would get a top mounted one rather than front mounted, if is were to do this, how would i mount it, where would the aircleaner box go?, how would i put a scoop in the bonnet?, are there any rubber seasl i can get to seal the intercooler to the scoop?

If anyone has done something similar can offer some sage words of wisdom, it would be much appreciated.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 13,452 Times in 6,588 Posts
    Mentioned
    324 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I have the DTS kit from MTQ on my GQ and reckon its great
    Especially as an everyday car, the intercooler is nice and allows you to tune up for more performance as you can increase the fuel and still control your exhaust temps.

If your not looking for Wild then Go the turbo first and see how you like it before spending another 2k on an IC setup.
    Its a Nissan! =====> Its a Keeper!! ....... Got a TD42 in it BONUS!! ....... I'm a lucky bugger! I've got 2 of em!