Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Backpacker around the country

Hi guys !

You can read my introduction if you want.
    To be quickly my wife and me arrive in October for 1 year (I hope more if we find jobs) and we want discover your big country (as tall as europe ......)
    I have a question, maybe THE question :
    I hesitate between Landcruiser HDJ80 and a Patrol with 4.2 motor. After reflexion I think take a Patrol, BUT which motor ??? 4.2 petrol ou diesel with or without turbo ???
    Which of this 3 motors is the more safe (reliable?? sorry for my english) and easier to fix if I have a problem ?

In France we don't have this motor and I have no informations here. My dad had a 4.2D (without turbo) when I was in Africa.

Thnaks for ur help.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 6,997 Times in 2,911 Posts
    Mentioned
    76 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    hi mate,

i am by no means an expert but i have owned the TB42(petrol) and now own a ZD30. the ZD30 doesnt even compare to the TD42's, but now having a diesel i would always choose one over a petrol 4wd. Im assuming you are buying a GQ? if you go the non turbo GQ you wont regret it(depending on how much you have to spend) although you just wont get there quick. plenty of low down torque no where near as bad a fuel economy as the TB42. also diesel is available everywhere in the country. if you can afford the extra cash go for a turbo'd GQ TD42, the are the cherry on the cake in the GQ world although they are highly sought after and you wont find anything worth buying for under $10k. apart from that youll just have to wait for some more expert advice where some of the other members get on.

also, when your over here make sure you keep your eye on the forum and stick your head in at one of the meetups while your in oz, its always good to meet new blokes with different experiences.

cheers

nic
    I got red dust in my veins.