OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Thread: Just made the Switch from Toyota.

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Just made the Switch from Toyota.

Hey Everyone, im new to the nissan game, my previous car was an FJ60 Landcruiser with the 2F petrol engine. just bought an 85' MQ sd33 3.3L Diesel. So far ive just had it beaten and sprayed. Tonka truck yellow. Its actually in great nick and thats why i decided to buy it, now, what im trying to find out is ummm... MORE GRUNT!? The 3.3L diesel has plunty of grunt already, however im feelin some forced induction is in order. Now the question is do i go for the general turbo add on, or something more sinister like a supercharger. to be honest im thinking the turbo is the better option in regards to price and practicality etc, also im worried that if its a belt driven supercharger it will slip when i try to pass water crossings and no one wants that. Also i know many turbo kits have been attached to these sd33's and they have had very minimal, usually no problems and in regards to boost ive heard that it kicks in at around 1200rpm anyway and it idles on 800. Just wondering if anyone has an opinion on the subject or maybe knows anything more thru there own experience? thanks.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    anyone who would like to contact me directly can contact me on 0432 394 174. Cheers.

Legendary
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,137 Times in 1,001 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One of our Qld members (Finly owner/ Tim) recently picked up a complete SD33T for about $500. The factory turbo SD33 has a stronger bottom end and piston oil squirters that the naturally aspirated motor missed out on.

Tony

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by YNOT View Post