Thread: rd28 starting problems

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy rd28 starting problems

hi guys, hoping someone can help me here this is my first time on this forum. i have a 98 gu 2.8ltr turbo intercooled patrol.A few days ago my patrol decided to get hot( i know the reason for this) since then it has been a pig to start when its cold at night or first time in the morning. A lot of blue grey smoke spews from it when it finaly does start. I installed new glow plugs as the others where old and i thought maybe that would fix the problem but to no avail. Since this has happened i have notice a leak from the diesel pump as well. Could it be the deisel pump causing this or another issue. Once it starts it runs fine and when still warm its starts first go. Anyone got any ideas to help me out thanx. Geoff

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Patrol Guru
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Geoff,

You may have other problems, but here are some tips that work for me:

When starting, use the airbag light as your glow plug timer. Crank the engine when the airbag light goes out.

If you do this and it still takes multiple cranks, check the priming pump under the bonnet (it's on top of the fuel filter, near drivers side).

The pump works by pushing the black piece down and up. If it is squishy, and therefore is pumping fuel, keep doing that until it goes firm. (then investigate why your fuel pressure is dropping)

If it is already firm, no need to do anything further.

Try that, report back.

Thanks
    Thanked 9,963 Times in 7,394 Posts
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Not 100% but is there a fuel pump mod for this motor?.
    check Nizzbits as I sent a part to a UK member but not sure if same motor
    Check and change fuel filter and fuel lines
    04 ST 3lt auto, not enough Mods to keep me happy, but getting there

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)