OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New member saying hi and history of problems and successes with our beloved fourby.

Advanced
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New member saying hi and history of problems and successes with our beloved fourby.

Hey all, my name is Sim and I live on the northern beaches... In Sydney.

I have been offroading for three years so far and just got around to registering to the forum...bout time I guess.

As for vehicles, we have three... One GQ td42 (used to be rd28), one GQ rb30 (selling, to fuel hungry) and Toyota 80 series 4.2 turbo diesel (I recover it all the time in the td42 aha, still good car though).

So three years ago my father had a breakdown, due too stress and overworking. I started reading 4wd magazines...My father would grab a copy and read it before going to bed which inspired him to buy our first four wheel drive, not realizing that the bug had been caught he asked me to source out our first fourby.
    After spending countless hours searching car sales and researching nissans and toyotas I found a mint condition 1997 RX rd28 GQ patrol for sale with only 160,000 k's on the engine for $11,500. Being on a budget this was a great find as there was no panel damage, no strange noises and completely stock standard, almost as if it had come straight from the showroom floor (yes that neat).
    First thing we did was have a mechanic take a look and go over the truck with a fine tooth comb. first thing we had to replace was the clutch, still standard, after the clutch was the timing belt/chain. that is when we had recieved a call from the mechanic informing us of the common problem with this engine... and so began the bottom end bearing crankshaft replacement.