OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wiring in stereo for GQ

  1. #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Willunga, SA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wiring in stereo for GQ

    I'm about to wire in a CD player into a GQ. Are there wiring diagrams somewhere or can someone please give me a rundown of which wires are what.

    Thanks

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    Patrol God bigguwesty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Mount Gambier, SA
    Posts
    14,194
    Thanks
    15,334
    Thanked 4,313 Times in 2,998 Posts
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Easiest way is to pop out the speakers and the attach the wires accordingly.

    But both units should have diagrams on top to follow..


    Sent from a device which doesn't always agree with my thumbs...
    Cheers
    Kallen Westbrook

  4. #3
    Daily Lurker rusty_nail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Yarra Valley, Vic
    Posts
    5,242
    Thanks
    6,548
    Thanked 4,242 Times in 1,902 Posts
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    mate i always find the easiest solution is to find your power wire with a volt meter, then power up your radio. then just go along the remaining wires and wire in accordingly, this way there is no pulling panels off and that sort or kerfuffle. good luck!
    I got red dust in my veins.

    Check out My Rig here: Broken

    Pics of Forum trips I've Been on:
    Pizza at AB's - 2012 Knockwood - 2013 Krissos Place Australia Day - 2015 Pizza at AB's - March 2015 Pizza at AB's - May 2015 Dargo - 2015 Newnes - 2016

    WARNING: Towballs used for recoveries can, and do kill people and damage property.

  5. #4
    Hardcore healy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    south east melbourne victoria
    Posts
    2,465
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 454 Times in 302 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could also just get a plug and play system wiring harness aerpro make them local supercheap should have it

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenbank QLD
    Posts
    3,505
    Thanks
    561
    Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Is this what you are after?

    http://www.installdr.com/Harnesses/Nissan-Wiring.pdf

    Just make sure you don't use any of the factory wires for the earth, earth your CD player direct to the metal part of the dash frame.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Yendor For This Useful Post:

    patch697 (21st September 2012)

  8. #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Willunga, SA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    exactly what i wanted Yendor
    Thanks

  9. #7
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The easiest way to figure out what speaker is what is to get a small AA battery and put just go through the wires at the head unit and the speaker will make a popping sound, + multi meter for power ect. AND MAKE YOUR OWN GROUND! because sometimes using the factory ground can make your dashlights blow or brake lights fail

  10. #8
    Patrol God threedogs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melb
    Posts
    33,047
    Thanks
    10,169
    Thanked 9,693 Times in 7,269 Posts
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    You may want to wire it hot to your aux battery if you want to use at camp etc
    Leaving your start battery for just that, starting
    04 ST 3lt auto, not enough Mods to keep me happy, but getting there

  11. #9
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Spike, Just curious why using the factory ground blowes things? Is that head unit's fault or nissan's fault?

  12. #10
    Advanced Lister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The earth that is usually picked on is only detected as an earth until your lights are turned on and it becomes a power feed for the factory stereo lighting hence the lights blow or the head unit doesn't work. Not sure where the factory Actually is ive never bothered to look, but it may be through the body of the stereo...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •