PDA

View Full Version : Cannot start my 4.2, playing weird

Kelvinator
1st March 2012, 03:58 PM
Hey guys, i went to start my troll and it just clicked on me, sounded like it was throwing out the solenoid but not turning over. Then after near killing pedestrians as my frustration grew it kicked over. Then after leaving work it turned over first go but sounded like the battery was struggling. Voltage dropped a heap on the voltmeter. Brand new batteries and alternator and perfect charge so it was very weird. Then when i got home nothing, just clicking and occasionally it would make the weirdest almost growl sound but not kick over. What have i done?! And a new starter is ridonculous price so if anybody has any good ideas lemme know before i spend bulk. As an ex mechanic i'll know what your talking about, im just on 12hr shifts and very low on time to suss this out at length. Also if anyone in gladdy has a good spare alternator i could test my theory with that would be super

Bob
1st March 2012, 04:06 PM
I would check the Battery Terminals

Kelvinator
1st March 2012, 04:52 PM
Nah mate, battery terminals are all sweet.

taslucas
1st March 2012, 04:56 PM
TB42 or TD42?
If it is the starter motor, an overhaul would be cheaper than buying a new one.
Sorry I can't be of more help
Lucas

Kelvinator
1st March 2012, 05:22 PM
Diesel matey, and yeah i agree that a rebuild of the starter would be easier I'm just not sure it is the starter yet and i dont have access to facilities to get it rebuilt at current.

Kelvinator
1st March 2012, 05:23 PM
sorry, cheaper*

Diesel matey, and yeah i agree that a rebuild of the starter would be easier I'm just not sure it is the starter yet and i dont have access to facilities to get it rebuilt at current.

taslucas
1st March 2012, 07:13 PM
Maybe you could try shorting the starter motor?

Lucas

Kelvinator
1st March 2012, 07:18 PM