PDA

View Full Version : Mickey Thompson Tyre pressre info

Cowboy
22nd February 2012, 06:55 PM
Hi all,
On this current Patrol '04 ST-L 3.0lt Wagon, we have Mickey Thompson BAJA ATZ Radials.They are LT265/75R16 with the Load Range being "E".
Currently we are running them at 50psi on all 4, without the van on.
On our last Patrol (4.8lt), we were running Maxxis at 38psi all round and with the van on the back, we would up the rears to 45psi.
Does anyone know what the average pressure should be for the Micky Thompson's??, should I up the rears even further with the van on, or are we already over on pressure???
The van weigh's 2.1T

Cheers

Rick

Maxhead
22nd February 2012, 08:26 PM
50 does sound very high. I would run them at around 40 (or less)for black top. maybe 42(or less) in the rear with the van. Just my opinion and I have no experience with MT ATZ's

Bigrig
22nd February 2012, 08:52 PM
50 does sound very high. I would run them at around 40 (or less)for black top. maybe 42(or less) in the rear with the van. Just my opinion and I have no experience with MT ATZ's

X2 - they'll expand through the centre of the tyre leaving it to wear faster than the outer edges, and having less 'equal traction' on the tyre across its width on the road.

Dhuck
22nd February 2012, 09:03 PM
I would even look at 38 unladen

Dave

growler2058
22nd February 2012, 10:34 PM
Dunno about the ATZ but my tyre guy said my MTZ should run 34-36psi, which i do on the troll and wifeys prado (siad in a very low murmur) and all godd wear wise to date

Cowboy
24th February 2012, 01:12 PM
Thanks guy's
Just made a few calls to different suppliers and all seem to say the same;
38psi all round and up the rears to 45psi is ok with the van on.
That's basically the same pressures I was running the Maxxis with on the other Patrol we had.
Hmm, must admit, after posting this originally, the next day I lowered the pressures to 40psi, and guess what?????