PDA

View Full Version : GQ 4.2 Diesel patrol Oil Capacity

david8igore
8th September 2010, 12:12 PM
Hi all,

I have a GQ 4.2 patrol 1993 model, no turbo, was wondering how much oil the the engine takes on a oil change, i filled up last night, and she took about 11 liters and i fear that this maybe a little too much.

YNOT
8th September 2010, 12:45 PM
11 litres is about right.
Back when I was an apprentice I was helping a tech do an oil change on a Maverick TD42. We'd drained the oil, changed the filters and were refilling the oil. He was sitting on the bullbar pouring the oil in from the 1 litre bottles that we had, I was refilling the bottles and handing them back to him. After a while he called out "how much oil do these things take, I've put 15 litres in already and it hasn't even touched the end of the dipstick..................oh s@#t I forgot the sump plug!"

Tony

patch697
8th September 2010, 12:48 PM
Welcome on board David, here is a link to our GQ factory service manual free down load.

http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php?292-Nissan-Patrol-Full-Factory-Original-GQ-Service-Manual.

this covers TD42's

Mate theirs plenty of info & good ppl here so why don't you start a thread in introductions & tell us a bit about yourself.....Its a good way to get to know the members.

Cheers
Paul

ouyendriver
24th August 2013, 11:40 AM
11 litres is about right.
Back when I was an apprentice I was helping a tech do an oil change on a Maverick TD42. We'd drained the oil, changed the filters and were refilling the oil. He was sitting on the bullbar pouring the oil in from the 1 litre bottles that we had, I was refilling the bottles and handing them back to him. After a while he called out "how much oil do these things take, I've put 15 litres in already and it hasn't even touched the end of the dipstick..................oh s@#t I forgot the sump plug!"

Tony

he he he thats funny...

98patrol
28th August 2013, 05:56 PM
I put in around 9-10 litres

Ryzha