PDA

View Full Version : Rear Accessory Panel

oncedisturbed
11th February 2012, 05:32 PM
Chasing info on the rear accessory panels in the GU's if possible, the area where you can pick up the 12v multi plug gang plates.

Looking at what other's have set up for ideas on putting my own in. Also chasing pics of what is set up behind there or descriptions of wiring, as per my intro post / pic, trying to figure out what this cable set was used for? There is a red, blue, yellow, white and i forget the other colour possibly black but can confirm that when i get home from work.

Any info appreciated as I am a complete patrol nOOb.:bowdown:

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a389/oncedisturbed/1fbd5399.jpg

Steveo_the_Devo
11th February 2012, 09:45 PM
When I installed mine (aftermarket Baintech version) I didn't use the wires directly behind the panel (not sure what they're for). Ran wires directly from the auxiliary battery. The Baintech panels have an inbuilt circuit breaker (30amp I think) but I also put a fuse in line.

oncedisturbed
11th February 2012, 09:56 PM
Cheers Steveo, there the same sort of gang plates I am looking at. Just got me stumped unless at some point additional lecky gear was installed and then later removed but no idea what a 5 core cable would be used for in there

Yendor
12th February 2012, 12:18 AM
The spare white plug (top right of photo) is for the rear air conditioning unit, normally fitted in the TI models, there should also be another smaller plug.

The 5 core wiring harness is non-geniune. It's normally used when fitting tail light but can be used for anything. You could try following the harness and see where it goes.

I would just run a new harness.

oncedisturbed
12th February 2012, 01:58 AM
Cheers for that gonna have a gander in the morning and see how far i track that lead

my third 256
12th February 2012, 09:13 AM
make sure to use 6 mm cable when taking feed from battery