PDA

View Full Version : Duel battery low voltage issue

scotty83
3rd January 2012, 09:35 PM
Excuse my bad spelling. Dual battery. Can't change it from taptalk

I have a redarc 100amp isolator and have been throw 2 deep cycle batteries. In 4 years. The last battery has only been in there for 2-3 months and won't charge above 7.5 volts. I have only run the engel fridge from it for one weekender in that period.

I have checked the voltage when charging and it is always above 13volts.
Given this is a 3l the battery sits quite lose to the turbo with no shielding. Is this likely to be killing them.

I have not tried charging this new battery with a 240volt charger but the old one didn't recover.

Any ideas??

rottodiver
3rd January 2012, 09:57 PM
heya Scotty,
i am no expert in this field but i do have a little knowledge, my concern is the battery is getting below 7.5 volts to start with... this will kill them, although i have had my batteries get really low i do have quite expensive batteries and maybe also a bit of luck that they were not destroyed. i would look at putting a cut off so they dont get anywhere near that low, that will extend the life... i am happy to be told i am wrong but this is what i understand about batteries!!

Scotty

p.s nice name

scotty83
3rd January 2012, 10:04 PM
This was my understanding too and I thought the engel had one but apparently not. Also concerned that the compressor in the fridge can not have been liking it either.

rottodiver
3rd January 2012, 10:09 PM
my engel also seems happy to drain the voltage to nothing..... doesnt seem to worry the engel.... my waeco has a cut off but for some reason engel would rather sell the swithch as a seperate part to make more money i guess!!!

pearcey
3rd January 2012, 10:19 PM
Scotty I run 3 expensive deep cycle batteries but I never let them get below 10-5 volts and I Charge them as per the battery makers spec`s