PDA

View Full Version : MK Patrol 1985..I just bought

cybernout10
3rd January 2012, 02:25 AM
I just bought this MK over the net without seeing....1985 petrol 2.8 manual. hope to collect it this weekend.

gqpew
3rd January 2012, 03:24 AM
Hey mate,

Noticed that this was your first post. Welcome to the site :)

How many K's is on the rig? Also is it Diesel or Petrol?

cybernout10
3rd January 2012, 09:52 AM
Yeh....newbie here. Excited bout the rig. Its a petrol and shows 300km on the speedo pics. Womdering what would go wrong at this mileage....

DX grunt
3rd January 2012, 10:02 AM
G'day and welcome aboard.

Take care out there.

Rossco

Silver
3rd January 2012, 10:35 AM
looks pretty good for its age in the photos, cybernought. I had an L28 engined '82 wagon. Rust was the biggest problem it had :-)

cybernout10
3rd January 2012, 10:37 PM
Read somewhere in the forum trannies get busted when they get to 300K...any comment much appreciated.

qdłaty
4th January 2012, 08:31 AM
hi man, nice ride, looks realy good, wish I have wheel holder like you have on a tail- in europe cant find one- no way...

Clunk
4th January 2012, 11:42 AM
doesn't look to bad for it's age mate......... welcome to the forum

AB
4th January 2012, 03:05 PM
Yeah mate that looks in good shape for It's age...Well done and welcome to the forum!

MQ MAD
12th January 2012, 01:43 PM
Read somewhere in the forum trannies get busted when they get to 300K...any comment much appreciated.

Not likely
Dont get the 2.8 dreaded issues you read confused here

You have an L28 engined patrol , these are the same 2.8 petrols in the nissan Z cars,very very robust engines and looove to rev
Most of 2.8 issues you read mostly regard to the RD28 (2.8 diesel) in the later GU series
Yours will have a remote tranfer case being a LWB,these transfer case are in demand and can handle tuff V8s power running threw them