PDA

View Full Version : Oil build-up in Airfilter

benno_84
18th August 2010, 12:33 PM
Hi guys,

I have a 1998 GU 4.2D with an after market turbo. I have just purchased the vehicle pretty cheap and am trying to give it an overhaul. I am no mechanic and am learning as I go so all your tips and suggestions are really appreciated.

The vehicle has 350, 000 kms on the clock. It runs well, drives well and has no major noises etc. I am replacing the following: oil filter and oil, air filter, fuel filter, coolant, diff oils, transmission oils, transfer case oils. I am also wanting to identify anything which may need doing soon or things that I should look our for.

I would appreciate any advice or resources you can point me to to do this.

I have noticed that some oil is getting into the air filter through what I think is called the blow-over valve ( a hole in the base of the air filter housing). I am wondering what is causing this and if I should be concerned about it?

Thanks

locks
18th August 2010, 03:26 PM
G'day Benno does it look a bit like this pic below?

YNOT
18th August 2010, 03:48 PM
G'day Benno,

That's a fairly comprehensive service you're doing, I would be adjusting valve clearances while you have the tools out. If you havn't adjusted valves before, check this thread for more info;http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php?603-TB42-Tappet-Adjustment.
Check all your suspension bushes for wear and cracking, and check all you steering components for wear and movement.

As for the oil build up, without seeing it Im' only guessing, but more than likely it's PCV (positive crankcase ventilation) oil mist that has collected. If this is the case you might want to investigate fitting a PCV filter or catch can. A small amount of blowby PCV oil mist is normal, and will increase as the engine wears. But if you remove the oil filler cap with the engine running, and the pressure behind it blows the cap out of your hand, then you have a problem!

Tony

benno_84