PDA

View Full Version : wiring basics

dehagoris
3rd September 2011, 08:34 PM
gday crew,

im fairly new to electrical systems in vehicles and was wonderring if anyone knows any good sites or could give a basic run down on how the wiring in cars works,trying to get my head around them so i might have some chance of diagnosing
problems if they occur,seems to be some variations from what ive read so any info would really help

Bigrig
3rd September 2011, 08:40 PM
gday crew,

im fairly new to electrical systems in vehicles and was wonderring if anyone knows any good sites or could give a basic run down on how the wiring in cars works,trying to get my head around them so i might have some chance of diagnosing
problems if they occur,seems to be some variations from what ive read so any info would really help

Once you crack the 25 posts mate, you can get the manual .... that said, always good to have someone or somewhere that lays it out in simple English, so would be interested to know of something like this also.

dehagoris
3rd September 2011, 09:05 PM
yeh mate im no scholar so need someone to spell it out in black and white lol,lookin to install a headlights on feature.but a general run down would help alot in the future for sure

YNOT
3rd September 2011, 09:08 PM
Big Fletch or Yendor would be the best to answer this.

Tony

big_fletch
3rd September 2011, 09:50 PM
G'day mate..
Wiring can be a tricky bugga sometimes.. I will try and give you the best easiest run down i can

Essential tools for testing Wiring circuits
-Multimeter
-Test Light
-Wire
-Elec Terminals
-Wire Strippers

Always check fuses first, as they are the weakest point in any wiring system as they are designed to be. most vehicles have 2 Fuse boxes, 1 inside vehicle and 1 in engine bay.