PDA

View Full Version : woops..big bog hole..way to fast..bye bye alternator.

Geoffy91
7th August 2011, 11:04 PM
gday fellas,
took out the new rig for my first real 4b sess out wombat state forest, few hours in started getting some big bogholes, went through one to fast, im new to this so i didnt know speeds..ive learned, engine, battery and low oil lights came on, few secs later lights faded out and volts drops hard, lights still work when you put ignition on, but my query is, why doesnt the battery light come on when the cars running?

Luckily its a td42 so i got jump started this morning when we left camp so i didnt need power to drive home, when i indicate or brake my dash gauges move rapidly, put that down to flat battery, by the time i got home i was sittin on 6volts,

anyone else have this issue? Or a way to stop it? I reckon ive done my battery too,
is the dash going crazy normal?

Any help is appreciated.
Least i got through the bog hole haha, over the bonnet water and all.

patch697
8th August 2011, 12:31 AM
How mechanical are you mate???

I'd say your alterator isn't charging by the sounds of things but why???? Well that could be a number of things....

Start by checking for any loos wires & plug connections (ie: for water & make sure theirs no loose connections) then check the alternator voltage at the positive pole on the back of the alternator. ( with engine running & revs at around 1500 you should be getting 14.2 volts)

Theirs a start for you anyways.

YNOT
8th August 2011, 05:28 AM
gday fellas,
took out the new rig for my first real 4b sess out wombat state forest, few hours in started getting some big bogholes, went through one to fast, im new to this so i didnt know speeds..ive learned, engine, battery and low oil lights came on, few secs later lights faded out and volts drops hard, lights still work when you put ignition on, but my query is, why doesnt the battery light come on when the cars running?