PDA

View Full Version : help with lcd roof mount install

beansathome
1st June 2011, 12:25 AM
i bought a 11 inch lcd and a double din dvd player for the patroll the other day but not sure on best way to install with least amount of damage to the roof lining but im not sure if where the light mounts in the center of the roof will suport it safley or not.

Clunk
1st June 2011, 12:29 AM
I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure that where the centre light mounts is where these sorts of consoles are installed, should hold the weight ok.................. I'm sure someone will be along with a bit more advise for you mate.

beansathome
1st June 2011, 12:33 AM
i was thinking it might b ok but i was going to weld up a braket to be sure and get that into the roof

Bigrig
1st June 2011, 10:16 AM
i was thinking it might b ok but i was going to weld up a braket to be sure and get that into the roof

G'day boss!! Long time no speak!!

Yeah mate - I would be rigging something up to hold it - those centre mounts are on with two screws, and the last thing you'd want is the unit to come crashing down when the rig is taking a battering (even something like corrugation would kill it I reckon).

Good luck and throw up some snaps of the process if you can!!

Bob
1st June 2011, 10:18 AM
Ther are some very good metal glue's around today which might do the job. It would be permanent though

TheFlyingBadger
1st June 2011, 10:24 AM
I fitted one to mine a couple of months ago, Found the info here: patrol4x4.com/forum/nissan-patrol-gu-gr-10/where-internal-roof-bars-dvd-install-21398/

NOTE: DIRECT LINKS HAVE BEEN REMOVED DUE TO PATROL4X4's VIRUS PROBLEMS, ENTERING THE ABOVE LINK INTO YOUR BROWSER YOU DO AT YOUR OWN RISK

KIND REGARDS

FORUM MANAGEMENT

katwoman
1st June 2011, 10:28 AM
Mine came like this, so don't know how it's held.
Don't know if this helps.

04OFF
1st June 2011, 12:49 PM