PDA

View Full Version : Why use a hook when winching??

jp4294
28th December 2017, 08:55 PM
I'm only new to 4 wheeling so bare with me if it's really obvious but my questions is; why do people use a hook on the end of their winch rope? From my understanding, you normally attach the ends of the tree trunk protector to a shackle and you attach the winch hook to that shackle. Now, we're always trying to minimise the potential for metal things to go flying so why not just go from shackle to the eye of the winch rope and skip the hook all together??? I'm also thinking about going with soft shackles to get rid of metal bits all together but that's a whole other story! :D

MB
28th December 2017, 09:32 PM
G’day mate! In a past life I’ve performed some horrible uneducated self & others recoveries. Thanks to this great forum and its top members my current setup for localised needs is working safe & well I believe? http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/images/imported/2017/12/158.jpg Still re-learning techniques every day and of course every new sticky situation we manage to get ourselves into requires paused thought and physics assessment. Stay safe, let’s keep learning together brother, Cheers Mark.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GQtdauto
28th December 2017, 09:46 PM
We don't always hook onto a tree sometimes we hook onto other fourbys etc so the hook is the way to go ,most winches if not all on the Aussie market have a pretty good hook from new and from what I've seen there are more mishaps from something breaking other than the hook .
Probably one of the most dangerous things we do is using a winch so we should always be mindful of how we go about it .

MB
28th December 2017, 10:20 PM