PDA

View Full Version : About to do the axle seals, swivel hubs and bearings. HELP!!!!!!

Burden
20th April 2011, 11:35 PM
I have just got the kit for my GQ to do the complete axle seal to wheel bearings including king pins and all the seals. I have read the Pictorial post by Tony which has been a great help and i will be using it while doing the job. I do however have a couple of things on my mind id like to know before i start.

Just to give you an idea, i have never done this before so as much help as you can give would be great. Dont be afraid to treat me as a beginner because thats what i am with this job.

I have all the parts needed i believe. I also bought a hub nut socket. What other tools do you reckon i need on hand for the job?

I know how to pack wheel bearings with grease and i guess its the same for the other bearings in the kit? How much grease and how do i pack the CV joint?

How do i set the pre load on the king pin or swivel hub bearings?

How do i set the pre load on the wheel bearings?

I realize you dont get the kingpin bearing cups with the kit. Whats the best way to get them out with out damaging the cups?

I hope im not going to make a disaster of this task. Im setting the whole easter weekend aside to get it done so i hope its drivable next week. haha.

Any advise would be great, especially if you have done this before.

Thanks in advance and a happy and safe easter to you all.

Carl

Bigrig
20th April 2011, 11:38 PM
Just follow Tony's post mate and give us updates as you go ... a lot are away over Easter but we will be popping in to check if you need a hand!!

Good luck with it and I'm sure you'll be fine mate.

Finly Owner
20th April 2011, 11:43 PM