PDA

View Full Version : High pitched belt type squeal fixed on ZD30

Piggymac
20th April 2011, 08:14 PM
Hey Guys,
I have just recently picked up a 3L GU Patrol. When I looked at the vehicle, i new it had a sqealing noise which I just put down to a noisy drive belt and tensioner. I have been a mechanic for the past 25 years, so you can emagine the language I used after I purchased a new belt tensioner and idler pulley, puting them on and still having a horrible high pitched squeal. I have done alot of reading about this problem and it seems alot of ZD30 owners are at thier wits end with this noise that sounds excactly like a squealing belt. Well after using a peice of hose to my ear, I pinpointed the problem down to the alluminium EGR pipe, ( runs from the EGR valve to the inlet manifold, drectly opposit the fuel filter, on drivers side ). Being alluminium, it is susseptable to warping, due to being mounted to a rather hot EGR valve. It was fine to look at, but when I removed the pipe, (4 bolts ) it had carbon on the surface all the way to the edge, ( this is the surface which is mounted on the EGR Valve, not the inlet manifold ). I put a straight edge on it and it had a definate .5mm warp in the mating surface. There is also a thin metal gasket which mounts between the two surfaces, so when the alluminium surface warps, it creates a small gap and when you give it revs and the EGR Valve opens and exhaust gas that escapes through the gap causes the thin metal gasket vibrate, kind of like the reed in a saxaphone, which causes the high pitched noise you can hear. Ive got a Mate at work with the same vehicle as mine, which was making the same noise and when I checked the EGR pipe, it was warped excactly like mine was.