PDA

View Full Version : Better fuel economy zd30

landy96
19th April 2016, 11:16 AM
How do i get better fuel economy.
I have just replaced my engine with a used one and fitted a dawes and needle valve egr block catch can egt and boost gauge .. used motor came with reco injector pump nothing else . Used all original parts from before. Before swap over . Highway travel
600ks to 3/4 tank
500ks to 3/4 tank towing
Now getting
500ks to 3/4 tank
400ks to 3/4 tank towing
Which way do i go with needle and dawes valve ?
Set to 18 psi max boost bounces to 20 for a second . Can the injector pump be adjusted still in car (and can i get a mechanical pump not using computer ? )
2002 gu zd30 auto

threedogs
19th April 2016, 12:09 PM
Not much you can do its only a 3ltr,
what tyres have you got?
What tyre pressures do you run?
Do you have a roof rack?
18psi is high but acheivable
Has this motor had the intake cleaned?
too many questions imo

4bye4
19th April 2016, 12:29 PM
I am no expert on these at all but I have noticed on our work vehicles, a Kia Truck, Vito van and Pregio van, that different injector pumps change the engine characteristics completely. Another thing affecting ltrs per hundred can be leaking or blocked exhausts. as I say i am not an expert but just offering as a starting point as you said you have a new motor with a reco injector pump.

threedogs
19th April 2016, 01:38 PM
I might add do you have the original intercooler if so its more than
likely leaking and in need for a tigged one, Your old motor was pushing
very good figures, I get very similar.
Plus check all the vacuum hoses they could be cracked and brittle if OE..
no 2 motor are the same but I think you can get similar figures with a few tweaks

landy96
19th April 2016, 09:29 PM
Same tyres same roofrack same intakepipes new larger tigged intercooler new maf sensor .goes into limp mode just before fully warmed up no other time ??

Ronin
20th April 2016, 09:50 AM