PDA

View Full Version : New solar set up

threedogs
30th September 2014, 02:14 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111467255774?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Going to get this panel when I get back from fishing, too short notice to get it before I leave.
It will return more than I use, thanks to LED lighting.
Seems like good value to, my old panel was an EX telecom number for remote phones,
so it already had a few years on it before I brought it back in 94 for $150.
It has done its job now time to up grade, I'll retain the REG as it a good one from Piranha.
I'll just take my smaller panel to put something back in if only a little as it takes up no room

Plus 25 yrs warranty on the panel output

Bob
30th September 2014, 02:22 PM
I will show you my setup this weekend.
Looks good value but I would beef up the Cabling and also move the regulator closer to the Battery being charged.
Comments by a self taught idiot tutored by Cuppa LMAO

macca
30th September 2014, 02:29 PM
Throw the old panel on the roof of your shed and use it to keep batteries fully charged that you don't use all the time.

Mate had a Subaru WRX STI plus half the alphabet, the immobiliser discharged the battery and he couldn't get into the thing. Then there was some gadget that needed a code to start it, it had to be transported to a stealer to reset.

Any way he put a panel on it when parked after that!

threedogs
30th September 2014, 02:35 PM
I do have an outside manland thing that I want to have a car radio running via a battery,
This may just be what I need, but the panel is old even 50% would still work, Thanks Macca,
I don't run much 12v gear at camp don't have the need, Fridge and LED flood lights is all I need

alfonso
7th October 2014, 09:22 PM