PDA

View Full Version : Whats best, Bearings, Guides or Wood for Drawers

Smoothrun
24th September 2014, 06:45 AM
Im heading out tomorrow to buy my plywood for my draw plans ive been working on, the only decision I have left is to go either Bearings, Guides, or simply wood.

If I do wood me Mrs will be upset cos she recons she will get sick of dragging them in and out, and since Ive shown her rollers shes fairly certain its what she wants

Below are my thoughts and please note this is my first build and experience with drawers so it all only IMO and open for your thoughts to add any pros or cons

Bearings
Pros,
Slide like roller blades
stronger?

Cons
Can rust
Dirt,Dust,water,
Noisy
More pieces (Breakdown)
Hard to fix,replace
Space consuming
Heavier

Guides
Pros
Thinner than roller bearings
Easily replacable
Lighter in weight
Self locking (if wanted)
Can use for fridge slides
Can mount under drawer not just sides

Cons
many cheap brands
Not as strong as Bearings ??

Well there's my quick thoughts feel free to throw yours in, Id be interested to see what other pros cons there are

Cheers

BigRAWesty
24th September 2014, 07:03 AM
Depends on your budget.
My draws use sorta a half way idea. It's a complete 12mm ply wood system but the draws run on a nylon type product called uhmw. A thin peice attached to the draw, then another to the frame. Slides like butter, no oil needed, and my draws fill 98% or the frame unlike rolled where you need a 16-20mm gap.
It's all detailed in my draw build

threedogs
24th September 2014, 07:23 AM
I would be using marine ply, cause sometimes the back of
your Patrol will get wet from river crossings or bog holes.
I don't think rust would be a big issue.
It all about your budget in the end

MudRunnerTD
24th September 2014, 08:27 AM
I have seen Marine ply recommended many many times all over the internet by heaps of people.