PDA

View Full Version : Cheap Battery monitor.

Cuppa
15th July 2014, 06:48 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/180957166631?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

These look like a useful bit of gear. Monitors that do what this one does usually cost $200 to $400.

Comes with the shunt & shows voltage, amps in & amps out, battery percentage (State of Charge), time to full charge (at current charging rate) & more.
In fact it does all that my NASA BM1 ‘Compact’ monitor does which I bought at a bargain price of $140 (usually closer to $240).

I have no direct experience of these units but do know of one person who is using one successfully & he is not someone likely to accept rubbish.

Bloodyaussie
15th July 2014, 06:58 PM
Worth a punt at that price...

Hodge
15th July 2014, 07:08 PM
Well spotted Cuppa. Since i'm doing my dual battery system as I type this, I was after something like this. Hmmm Buy button is.... tempting.

Family4x4
15th July 2014, 07:21 PM
Thanks Cuppa would this unit be able to monitor both batteries? Would it be as simple as adding a switch if it doesn't?

megatexture
15th July 2014, 07:33 PM
Well spotted Cuppa. Since i'm doing my dual battery system as I type this, I was after something like this. Hmmm Buy button is.... tempting.

Do it mate one of us has to be the Guinea pig lol I'll be curious to see how it goes

megatexture
15th July 2014, 07:37 PM
Thanks Cuppa would this unit be able to monitor both batteries? Would it be as simple as adding a switch if it doesn't?

The switch would probably depend on if when switching the unit between batteries it turns the unit off then you will have to reset the ah capacity of the batteries loosing your current place but it looks like there are two pos inputs so one may be for the amps reading and power and the other volt reading.

I think it would work looking at it closer.. But maybe put a momentary switch on the pos powering the shunt so you don't forget to switch it back..

Cuppa