PDA

View Full Version : Is this standard height suspension

jayisbikes
7th July 2014, 09:49 PM
Hi I'm a newbie here and just starting to modify my gq for touring. I would like to know what I'm starting with and I'm not sure if my suspension is standard or lifted. I measure 540mm from hub centre to the bottom edge of the rubber flare on the front axle and 570 for the same on the rear. My truck is fitted with a TJM steel winch bar (no winch yet) and steel TJM brushbars/side steps. I imagine these accessories would sag the springs a bit. Any help would be appreciated :-)

MudRunnerTD
8th July 2014, 06:19 AM
Yes it is lifted for sure mate.

Can you post a pic of he yellow front shock.

What size tyres are they?

MEGOMONSTER
8th July 2014, 06:25 AM
It looks lifted, looking at the wheel arches.
The little tyres might make the gap bigger though.

Crate
8th July 2014, 06:26 AM
I am with mudrunner it is certainly lifted, if you put up some pictures of the radius arms at the front we may be able to tell you what the castor correction is (if any) or what else is non stardard with the suspension

Drewboyaus
8th July 2014, 07:19 AM
My bet is on 2 inch lift.....they look like 31 inch roadies that make the wheel arch clearance look bigger.

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

jayisbikes
8th July 2014, 07:28 AM
Thanks for the help. Tyres are 31" roadies. I have got a couple of quick shots of the shocks and radius arms, let me know if you need more detail. Should I be worried about the lifespan of the rusty coil springs? It's a bit difficult to see in the pic but the rear radius arm doesn't look concentric but it may just be worn out.

Crate
8th July 2014, 11:35 AM
I am not familiar with that shock, someone else might be able to tell you. But if your radius arm bush's are not concentric (it could be wear) but is more likely that castor correction bushes have been put in like these: