PDA

View Full Version : DIY advice

patroltrav
12th February 2011, 08:10 PM
G'day guys,

I am new to diesels and just chasing some advice on some DIY mods that i can to my 08 crd that will maybe improve longevity and performance? Any help would be great

Cheers Trav

YNOT
12th February 2011, 08:45 PM
To increase performance I would be fitting a bigger exhaust (2 3/4" or 3") and a performance engine chip.

For reliabillity you need to stay on top of routine servicing using good quality lubricants and filters. For peace of mind I recommend fitting boost and exhaust gas temperature gauges to all turbo diesels, those 2 gauges can tell you a lot about what your engine is doing.
You could also fit a crank case ventilation filter to stop oil mist going through your inlet system and fouling the mass airflow sensor.

Tony

Finly Owner
12th February 2011, 11:15 PM
Trust Tony, have a look here he is our tech advisor, and desn't have shares in any 4wd accessory shops as far as I know. LOL

Tim

the evil twin
12th February 2011, 11:27 PM
Pretty much what YNOT said. Yours is still under warranty I assume so be careful with some Mods which Mr Nissan takes a dim view of...

Performance - Chip and Exhaust

Reliability/Longevity - EGT gauge, Scangauge are 'Must haves' IMHO, then a catch can or keep an eye on the MAF sensor is a good idea. Stick with genuine filters etc unless you know what you are doing and watch out for contaminated/dodgy fuel.

patroltrav
13th February 2011, 07:38 PM
Yeah still got about a years warranty to go so maybe i will wait until then to do a chip? probly do an exhaust and some guages. What is the scangauge by the way?

szaf
13th February 2011, 08:54 PM
Would changing the exhaust and adding gauges put warranty in jeapody? I understand that the exhaust and gauges wouldn't be covered by Nissan warranty

the evil twin
13th February 2011, 09:00 PM
What is the scangauge by the way?

The BEST $200 you'll spend on your CRD www.scangauge.com.au/