PDA

View Full Version : speedo problem

paps
6th January 2011, 03:48 PM
Hi guys
just joined up. I too have a 91 Patrol - love her to bits, only problem is, like many of us here, speedo doesn't work or the odometer. Was working ok for some time, then one day, just shut off. Taco works ok. Have taken unit out and re-tightened all the screws at the back, sometimes this has worked for a bit, then bang, SILENCE. Funny thing is, sometimes speedo works as taco; other times, at stand still, I am doing 60 Km and haven't moved an inch - BANG, silence (zero).
I'm not that tech savvy as I would like to be (time constraints). My mechanic has no idea, Nissan is "unaware" of such issues. Any help would be great. I have read some of the posts here and looks like we are all in the same boat. Is there one particular cause or a variety, ie, faulty connectors???

Bugger me

YNOT
6th January 2011, 07:17 PM
I haven't heard of that fault before, but to me it sounds like either an internal instrument cluster fault or a wiring fault. First thing I would do is remove and inspect the speedo sender at the gearbox, make sure it's all in tact and the drive gear is properly fitted and secure. Failing that try to get hold of another instrument cluster to test.

Tony

the evil twin
6th January 2011, 09:22 PM
Thats an unusual one and I can't quite decipher your symptoms exactly but I suggest the following...

If neither the speedo or odometer are working check the cable underbody from the gearbox sensor for cuts/damage etc from rocks or whatever and (as suggested already) for a stripped gearbox cog.

The speedo acting a bit like a tacho intermittently is possibly just spurious pulses getting into it as it has lost the grounded shielding but certainly can't rule out the instrument cluster yet

Anyway, check that external cabling first and let us know how you go

Finly Owner
6th January 2011, 10:35 PM
Hi guys