PDA

View Full Version : Question on winches

MEGOMONSTER
19th July 2013, 08:07 PM
New stupid question time.
In regards to winches, types and sizes.
I hear people say things like high mount winches, (what does this mean).
As a beginner, I assume a "normal" winch would suffice.
Secondly, the sizes, 9000,9500,10000,12000lb winches.
What are we all using.
Will a Warn magnum 9500lb winch be sufficient at just over $1k.
Or would a 12000lb winch be a better option.
Having never had a winch or used one for that matter, apart from my boat trailer hand winch.

I am now having a real thought of purchasing a SMITTYBILT 10000lb X20 rope winch at $875, as their 12000lb only come with cable.
The Smittybilt winch is a FULLY sealed waterproof, submersible winch. And from what I have read so far, water ingress is the biggest killer of a winch.
http://www.smittybilt.com/xrc_winches.htm

Or Runva have a special on now, on winches.
In which they have a 12000 lb winch with rope for $699.
http://www.runvawinch.com.au/
Both have limited lifetime warranties.

What is your own choice of winch and what size.
I don't want to buy it twice, but don't want to spend 3k on a top line Warn.

Your advise and knowledge is appreciated.

NissanGQ4.2
19th July 2013, 08:20 PM
Mave have started a new thread for your question and moved it to here Mick

Cheers

Toddie

YNOT
19th July 2013, 08:28 PM
High mount winch refers to the motor being mounted above the cable spool, not all bull bars can accomodate this style of winch.
Low mount (often refereed to as "slow mount" due to lower cable speed) has the motor in line with the cable spool.

If you've never had use for a winch before I wouldn't over do it with the capacity, the 9500lb winch will be more than adequate for 99% of situations.

MudRunnerTD
19th July 2013, 09:44 PM
New stupid question time.
In regards to winches, types and sizes.
I hear people say things like high mount winches, (what does this mean).