PDA

View Full Version : I like building things: My GU Drawers

trekster
19th May 2013, 10:04 PM
So as the title states I like making things, Being a fitter/machinist by trade anything that can be made/fabricated I enjoy. Today I decided I wanted to have a crack at some drawers for the GU, been wanting to do this for a while now and a few months ago I had cut and bolted a piece of ply to the floor so it was time to make some more progress.

I like to reuse stuff wherever I can, I don't like throwing things out if they can serve another purpose, also ends up saving me money :049:

A few years ago my wife who works at freedom brought me home two tables that were written off because they had no legs, These table tops were 900x900 and 25mm thick chipboard. I found them the other night and gave me an idea to use them for the tops, they aren't too heavy and being thicker will allow me to counter-bore into them and fit some recessed tie down rings

I measured up my rear end and decided I wanted to span the whole width :D

So I went about cutting the two tops down so I could span the width and have a divider down the guts, as one top wouldn't span the 1350mm I needed. Cut them up nicely with the circular saw then the offcuts were cut down to form the centre divider and a support at the back, It isn't full width but didn't bother me as it fills most of it across and won't cause too many hassles.