PDA

View Full Version : How do i change a gu cv

Jams
23rd December 2010, 06:57 PM
Hi guys, new to this forum and 4wding. My cv's are making a clicking sound whilist turning and driving.I assume there stuffed and have already bought new ones to put in. I have limited mechanical knowledge, but am willing to have a go, worse case i stuff it up, ill get a mechanic to fix it. Im after a detailed list of tools and steps on how to replace them, if any one can help that would be great!!! Oh and its on my family wagon, 4.2 diesel, 36 pedes, lockers etc

YNOT
23rd December 2010, 07:11 PM
Welcome to the forum Jams.
Just out of curiosity where abouts are you?

If you can wait a few days I should be able to do a full write up of the job with photos and a full list of tools. If you're planning on doing it sooner than that I'll try doing a write up from memory but there won't be any photos.

Tony

Jams
24th December 2010, 06:34 PM
Hey YNOT, that would be orsome if you could a full write up with pics! Im in western suburbs of Vic. I'll keep a keen eye out! Thanks again!!

MudRunnerTD
27th December 2010, 04:56 PM
Hey Jams, did you buy just the CVs or second handies connected to change over axles?

No disrespect intended but changing CVs can get quite involved to be honest and not really where you should "Start" you mechanical education alone in your shed.

Unfortunately, if you do stuff it up you will have a vehicle that is not really drivable and you may need to get a mechanic in, someone like LubeMobile would get you out of trouble if needed though.

Take a look at what Tony puts together for you for sure mate, but be aware this is not a job that should be undertaken lightly.

Good luck.

YNOT
27th December 2010, 11:13 PM
The front diff I was working on for this article was out of a GQ Patrol and was fitted with Nissan manual hubs. The job is the same on GU Patrol with only minor differences in the hub nut area.