PDA

View Full Version : Safari Datsun SWG 1980

prophet1
20th April 2013, 01:31 AM
Hi everybody, I am new to Nissan Patrol, so let me intro myself. I am a minister in South Africa, right opposite the Kruger National Park, love fly fishing and outdoor acticities. I own a Datsun Safari 1980 L28 Motor Station Wagon. I am starting to rebuild from the ground up and need lots of Nissan friends and tips, obviously.:jawdrop:
Hopeful and thanks

prophet1
20th April 2013, 01:43 AM
Hello my new friends,
Greetings, I can't wait to enter into coms over my mistress, my Datsun Safari 1980 SWG. So hear I am going to begin, done the intro, etc. so lets chat. Can anyone tell me if the front brake calipers of a Nissan Safari GQ Y60 will fit the front axle of my Datsun Safari MQ 160 1980 L28 engine? These vehicles are extremely rare in SA.
Forgive my directness, but in SA we do not have the clubs and freinds that is found overseas, or the PARTS :mad:
Thank you

prophet1
20th April 2013, 02:01 AM
Here is a rare one for you, that you may never have heard before - my Datsun Safari clocked out at over 485000 klms, with the engine never have being opened, EVER !! When I opened it several of the head bolts had actually fused into the cast iron engine block from never having been removed - AWESOME. Thats my girl for you.
No ridge on the the ports. not even a sign of one,a little tell tale smoke and some compression loss from the tired rings, but that was all.
Eat your heart out Toyota:bananarock:

prophet1
20th April 2013, 02:04 AM
Hi again, forgot - can anyone tell if the front and rear axles of the GQ Y60, in a complete state fit the MQ 160 Datsun Safari chassis without any or very little mods. Thats the coil spring axles. Thanks

MudRunnerTD
20th April 2013, 02:45 AM
Hi mate,