PDA

View Full Version : Recovery - The Fundamentals

MudRunnerTD
15th December 2010, 11:12 PM
I am a Driver Trainer with my club and last year had to put together an Advanced Course for Winching and Recovery.

Below is some good information that i put into a Course Book for each of the Participants.

I did not write allot of it but compiled it here from a number of places and put it together here. I acknowledge the work of 4WD Action Mag for quite a bit of the detail.

--------------------------------------

Advanced Recovery - Tips and Techniques

Basic Recovery Gear

Rated Recovery Points, Snatch Strap, 4.5t “D” Shackle,
Winch, Tree Trunk Protector, Winch Extension Strap,
Snatch Block, Winch Dampener Blanket, Hand Winch,
Gloves,

Not everyone will carry all of this gear, some of it should be carried as personal safety equipment and the rest could be carried amongst the group if you are travelling in a convoy.

Minimum requirement with any Four Wheel Drive vehicle should be a snatch strap and pair of gloves.

Recovery of a Vehicle

Recoveries are a difficult task and should not be attempted lightly. There are risks involved to vehicles and people and all the risks should be considered before any recovery is attempted.

Check list for safety

1. Secure the Vehicle – is the vehicle in danger of sudden movement? Can I Secure it via a tether line for safety?
2. Is there a risk to people? What can I do to reduce the risk?
3. What kind of terrain is it?
a. Is it flat?
b. Is it a bog hole?
c. How deep is the mud that I am in?
d. What is the angle of slope of the hill?
e. What affect will the slope have on the weight of the vehicle?
f. What recovery gear do I have?
g. What is the recovery gear rated too?
h. How many people really need to be involved in this recovery – Can I clear the hill, move people away?
i. Who is in-charge? – There should only be one person in-charge of the recovery.
j. Ask for advice from others, don’t be shy.