PDA

View Full Version : Onboard air query.

portal pat
10th November 2010, 01:50 PM
Am about to build an onboard air setup. Have heard that using a large(ish) air tank can prove counterproductive. Mine is 35 litres and compressor will pump 150 PSI. with a good duty cycle. Does anyone see a potential problem here?

YNOT
10th November 2010, 02:17 PM
I'm no expert with pneumatics, but I think the problem could be running a big air tank with a low CFM (cubic feet per minute) compressor.

Tony

Finly Owner
11th November 2010, 12:40 AM
check out the ones on ebay they look good value

im2xtreem
11th November 2010, 09:00 AM
Besides, 35Lt is A LOT of air, do you really need a tank that large. If you go for a smaller one it will provide greater usable pressure and will be much easier to mount out of harms way. I am planning an on board system myself and have already helped a mate do his and it works great. We used an old fire extinguisher with a pressure blow off valve and then used the metal extinguisher mounting system to mount to the inner side of chassis. Made the too easy! = )

CHEERS
Shayne
(im2xtreem)

portal pat
11th November 2010, 09:26 AM
The tank came free. Space is not an issue. It's going under a flattray. And I need enough capacity to reinflate 35s.

patch697
11th November 2010, 10:27 AM
The trick here is not the size of the tank but the compressors ability to recharge it so its all a case of balance between the two.

My brother has a setup with a 40ltr under his tray & a rotary air con compressor as he's air pump with a cutoff set too 160 psi so it cuts in & out itself & of course an on/off switch in the cab.

The hole setup works a treat & its fast too. re-inflate 4x 35/12.5 from dead flat to 40psi in under 2 min.

Hope this helps.

im2xtreem
11th November 2010, 11:21 AM
The trick here is not the size of the tank but the compressors ability to recharge it so its all a case of balance between the two.