PDA

View Full Version : 2" suspension lift question

The Phat Patroller
12th October 2012, 12:39 AM
Hey I have an old man emu 2" lift if I wanted to get say a set of 3 or 4" springs could I use the same shocks?

MudRunnerTD
12th October 2012, 12:54 AM
yes but they would be too short for best setup. They would limit your drown travel or Droop and therefore compromise your flex. So whats the point??

Also you need a heap more things when going to a 3 or 4 inch lift! Each inch needs more stuff beyond 2inch mate. When the time comes sell teh 2" kit as a kit and buy a full kit to suit you new height.

The Phat Patroller
12th October 2012, 01:16 AM
Ok so, so I've been reading the posts on here any I'm still kinda on the fence as to whether to go 4" lift or 2" with 2" body ultimately my goal is to have 35's underneath so prob should hold out for 4" kit you reckon?

makeitfit
12th October 2012, 01:22 AM
It's considerably cheaper and easier to +2 and +2 in my opinion. I'm new to the Trol but it's pretty damn good so far on my 35s

macca86
12th October 2012, 07:17 AM
35's look great and go well off road but you may gave trouble with police. Same if you go any higher than 2 inch lift. 4 inch suspension lifts are expensive too. Id look at getting longer shocks coil relocators so under full flex when they drop out they come back and id get an auto locker up front it'll get you further than 35's plus some good 33' tyres just a thought

makeitfit
12th October 2012, 08:17 AM
Reading between the lines here, but is it illegal in Aus to have 35s then ?

macca86
12th October 2012, 08:19 AM
From what I've read for on road use you can't go bigger than 2 inches above factory size

makeitfit
12th October 2012, 08:40 AM
ooph, bum deal. No such issues here :) thankfully , got a few mates on 37s and there's loads of comp trucks bigger . Icelandic trucks often run 44s and there's some of those knocking around UK roads too.

taslucas
12th October 2012, 09:04 AM