PDA

View Full Version : tips or experiences on long drives

bsax
27th October 2010, 05:56 PM
hey all,
im planning for a big trip to perth (from victoria) in the gq.
as it's my first time going on a long trip driving (longest i've done to date is probably to wangaratta which is 4 hours for me)

i was just wondering if anyone would care to share some tips and/or experiences you've had on your expedition?

Bigrig
27th October 2010, 06:17 PM
Hey mate - I do Brisbane to Sydney and Melbourne and back again a fair bit (6 times last year), and all I can say is I've only done it once in the patrol (have another car), and the biggest thing I found apart from the usual mental fatigue is that you feel that much more secure in the patrol, BUT being mine shifts about a bit on the road compared to the HSV, it makes for a more tiring drive ... other than that, depending on who's travelling with you, make sure you set up for easy access to stuff you want whilst driving - small esky with ice/drinks, bit of food, smokes (lol), etc ... I also keep a face washer in my esky - sounds dumb, but I use it every now and then to wash down my face and arms - peps you right up (as it's bloody cold) and makes you feel a bit fresher ...

Obviously the other things are basic tool set (screwdrivers, multi-grips, shifters, couple of spare hose clamps, spare hoses/belts, spare fluids (oil, brake/transmission, and water - all for the car!!), etc - you don't want to go ridiculous with it I guess, but good to have some level of independency in case the worst happens. "Prepare for the worst, plan for the best".

good luck with it!!!

bsax
27th October 2010, 06:36 PM
thanks heaps for that, ill take it all onboard

Bigrig
27th October 2010, 06:52 PM