PDA

View Full Version : 2" body lift on gq

BIG PIG
20th August 2012, 08:28 PM
hey guys there is prob a diy on this but am yet to find it
can any body give me a complete list of parts and parts the require moding
and a basic run down on how to do a 2" body lift this is my first time and would like it to go as smoothly as possible

Silver
20th August 2012, 08:37 PM
Never done it, so don't know :-)

An online search turned this info up pretty quick (it is not from this forum) - whether it is correct as well as being easy to find......

http://www.gqpatrol.com/bodylift/bodylift.txt

BIG PIG
20th August 2012, 08:53 PM
awesome cheers for that mate will have a read of it

Silver
20th August 2012, 09:13 PM
forgot that you'd be removing existing body mounts..... some members provided me with good tips on this, especially for the rear ones which have captive nuts that can be tricky. We are talking about a GQ wagon or shorty? If a ute it is bound to be different :-)

I reckon it is very likely that the body mount bushes are worn/collapsed to some degree, unless they have already been done. Solutions that I have seen include replacing them or packing them, or shortening the crush tube and tightening them up. I can't see that shortening the crush tubes will help body alignment etc, and it would be a shame to cause cracking because they torqued the body. Be seated when you chase up the price of these bushes. Not cheap, and there are plenty of them :-) Maybe that's why people play games with packing with metal and rubber washers. I even saw cutting up bath plugs mentioned :-)

Try searching on body mounts and similar - if you don't find anything pm me and I'll take a look. From memory, the advice was to pop the bungs in the back corners of the cargo area, and make sure the captive nuts and the bolt are well lubricated. Because you only get one shot, use a quality rattle gun on the bolt from underneath.