PDA

View Full Version : GU8 Poor paint quality, Silver.

WogsRus
15th July 2012, 07:51 PM
Ok so perhaps not the whole car but so far it seams that the GU paint, min is silver, is generally of very poor quality and coverage. Today i noticed a few scuffs on on the driver door sill, obviously form getting in and out. So i got a very light cut and polish, and i mean very light, more polish then cut. Gave it a small rub and had to stop as i could see the silver paint rubbing of.

It appears there is NOOOO clear coat on the lower seals, or is it just mine.

Also noticed that the paint scratches SOOO easily compared to the Pajero it replaced. So has anyone else ha had this issue???

mick.
15th July 2012, 08:48 PM
I was an automotive painter for over 15 years and from the days when I started my apprenticeship until now I seen a huge change and not for the good. When I started out we where matching just the colour on the car and painting it. These days the clear and colours are so thin my last few apprentices I had to train to match the primer colour underneath, then match the colour to suit the transparency and then match the amount of clear applied. I was a paintshop foreman for a Lexus repairer so this problem is on cars that are worth as much as $250,000 or more not just the Nissan Patrol or Landcruiser.

If you apply to much colour to gives you the allusion that the paint is to dark but it's really just that you have covered out the primer underneath where from factory it's not. The same thing happens with the clear. You apply 2 coats of clear to a factory panel on a car and no colour that panel will look 4 shades darker as there just isn't any colour let alone clear on the new cars these days.

The factories are cutting more and more corners these days. The paint isn't lasting like it should especially here as our UV rays are breaking down the clears quicker as there less to break down on the cars as there was 10 or 15 years ago.

WogsRus
15th July 2012, 09:56 PM