PDA

View Full Version : advice purchasing gq coil cab ute

Rhyso
8th June 2012, 09:55 PM
hey guys im new to the site n iv decided i want to buy a gq coil cab ute
i find it hard tho looking at adds to work out what gq utes are coil sprung
i was told the dx are leaf and st are coil but the older 88/89 st's iv seen have leafs
im a bit confused
i have a buget of 10-11 grand max but it looks like coil is the way to go
any advice workin out what gq utes are coil wld b appreciated
or if anyone thinks leafs are better tell me haha
im a welder by trade n want to do alot of fab work hence the ute :)
any help at all on purchasin a patrol wld b good or if anyone has seen any good ones for sale let me know

nissannewby
11th June 2012, 10:04 PM
Hey mate the dx's came coil and leaf in the utes and the earlier DX also came in a full leaf setup. Most of the ST's should be coiled. I have a 99 dx GQ patrol ute and she is coil and discs all round. What suspension setup you go for will depend on what you wanna do with it etc leafs are better for load carrying but if you throw that out the window a well setup leaf sprung vehicle will flex incredibly well offroad. Coils are more comfortable and there are more aftermarket goodies to modify them but its all much of a muchness.

DX grunt
12th June 2012, 09:17 PM
Off track a little bit.... mine's a 2005 GU DX ute with coils on the front and leafs on the back.

nissannewby
13th June 2012, 11:03 AM
Off track a little bit.... mine's a 2005 GU DX ute with coils on the front and leafs on the back.

Yeah the GU's came like that. Im pretty sure with the GQ's it was one or the either not half and half like the GU's

Rhyso
13th June 2012, 04:13 PM
Cheers mate, I wldnt b using it for load carrying at all, so leafs not set up for load carrying will still flex well? As good as a coil?

nissannewby
13th June 2012, 06:59 PM