PDA

View Full Version : MK plumbing

Crankshaft
3rd June 2012, 08:53 PM
While removng the engine from my MK i became aware of the vast amount of heater hose plumbing (that needs to be replaced) and apparent duplication.
Does anyone know why the heated manifold hose goes from the manifold (LHS) to the RHS and then the heater hose followes it around the engine to a Tee on the RHS? Why not tee it in on the LHS? and use a lot less hose and fittings?

Why does the inlet manifold have a hose each end and one in the middle?

is the pipe down the RHS the input or output side of the pump ??

Is the fitting on the side of the block that goes to the centre of the manifold suitable to supply the heat for the LPG regulator? Guessing it is an output?

I could probably test it but the engine is hanging on a crane and I would like re-plumb it while it is easy to reach.

Cranky

aussiemale
4th June 2012, 09:33 AM
I'm actually pretty new to this stuff however wouldn't think that there would of been that much difference between a MK and a MQ. If you check my build page (Bryan MQ/MK project) have both a MQ and a MK. the MK is diesel, however the MQ is a L28. I've just removed the radiator and related heater hoses and don't have half the amount you have. Basically it's all on the drivers side and curves around behind the engine and attaches to the heater inlet. Will be posting some pics later on when the light conditions improve

aussiemale
4th June 2012, 03:40 PM
Re-attached the hoses for the photos
From the drivers side
http://i1100.photobucket.com/albums/g420/aussie_male1au/00040304.jpg
From the passenger side
http://i1100.photobucket.com/albums/g420/aussie_male1au/00040305.jpg
As you can see, bugger all hose and none of the fittings you have. Wouldn't of thought that the MK would of changed that much from the MQ

Crankshaft
4th June 2012, 09:22 PM
OK thank you It helped me confirm that mine had not been modified.

I think I have worked some of it out.