PDA

View Full Version : RECOMMENDATIONS: New to 4x4ing and need helpful tips!

jordan1994
30th May 2012, 06:17 PM
G'day members, my name is Jordan and I'm new to 4x4ing.
I have bought my first car being a 1999 Gu Nissan Patrol, tb45 on gas.
I'm an apprentice chippy and I live in the Western side of Melbourne. I will be hauling a trailer from time to time, not after a roof rack though.
I'm looking for helpful tips, ideas or thoughts to help me choose the right modifications for the vehicle.
i don't have a huge budget but i am willing to spend up $5,000.
My thoughts at the moment are a suspension lift, wheels and tyres and anything extra that you can think of mechanically or electronically?
I will mainly do weekend 4x4ing, nothing to serious but i still want the car to perform and look the part.
I need help regarding 35'inch tyres compared to 33'inch? suspension lift i was thinking 3 inch, but i need more information on both of these two modifications as well as what type of mud tyres are best all rounders..?

please give me as much advice and recommendations as possible and the problems i may have with certain after market parts.

Thank you Jordan

growler2058
30th May 2012, 07:05 PM
G'day Jordan welcome aboard mate gotta friendly mob here fulla great info and advice. A lot of folks don't read the intros mate so ask your questions again in tyres an suspension. Nothin beats the looks of a 4"lift and a set of 35" muddies its just the legality of it in each sate that's the killer!

Tapp tillya Crap

Bigrig
30th May 2012, 07:50 PM
G'day mate and welcome aboard - great people, information and laughs to be found on here, so join in to make the most of it!!!

Enjoy!!

healy
30th May 2012, 07:53 PM
welcome to the forum

jordan1994
30th May 2012, 08:04 PM
thanks guys, glad to be here. its a good layout and seems really friendly for an online page! :)

AB
30th May 2012, 08:24 PM