PDA

View Full Version : EGT guage hassle

savagedwarf
27th April 2012, 07:00 AM
Hi everyone,

i just got a EGT guage installed yesterday, and i was wondering what common readings would be from the guage? mine did not move from the initial starting position ~1. i have only been for a 10 min drive. the install thrashed the shroud which covers the turbo, the guys ended up putting 3 x 40mm holes in it before nailing the position of the bung. iam worried that they have damaged the sensor. can anyone enlighted me on this subject plz.

3.0 CRD auto,2" lift, recently installed a 3" exhaust

Rusty86
27th April 2012, 08:48 AM
Hey mate,

I'm not an expert in the installation process but this sounds strange. Mine will sit at about 200 deg while idling and should definitely start moving up in the first couple of minutes you drive. By approx. 1, so you mean 100 degrees celsius? Mine will quickly get up to normal 'around town' temps of between 250-400 deg depending on conditions. Is yours not moving at all? Sounds like an installation problem or faulty sensor. I wonder if they tested it after installing it? My understanding is that most of the aftermarket exhaust systems will already have a spot to plug straight into.

Others will have more info an the ins and outs of the installation and sensor position.

Cheers,
Rusty

MudRunnerTD
27th April 2012, 10:00 AM
Hi everyone,

i just got a EGT guage installed yesterday, and i was wondering what common readings would be from the guage? mine did not move from the initial starting position ~1. i have only been for a 10 min drive. the install thrashed the shroud which covers the turbo, the guys ended up putting 3 x 40mm holes in it before nailing the position of the bung. iam worried that they have damaged the sensor. can anyone enlighted me on this subject plz.

3.0 CRD auto,2" lift, recently installed a 3" exhaust