PDA

View Full Version : diy ideas

41ook_patrol
8th April 2012, 04:08 PM
hey guys im new to the 4wd sence i have had a gq 4.2s swb have had to recently sell that and buy a gq lwb due to growing family. it is also a 4.2s. just wondering what i could do to it diy wise inside and out aswell as engine. it has 320.000k's on it but have had no probs yet.

cheers

Richo460
10th April 2012, 04:18 AM
petrol or diesel? what sort of things do you want to achieve? install accessories or performance mods?

Maxhead
10th April 2012, 06:46 AM
It would be a TB42S carby model I guess. Also how handy are you with mechanical stuff. There would no limits what you could achieve with the right set of hands, bit unlike me...LOLL

As said above, what are you trying to achieve?.

some ideas.
Dual battery kit wired to the back for fridge
Spotties
Entertainment unit for the kids..lol
suspension upgrade
probably new seats at GQ's comfort is like riding a bull .
sliders
Drawers in the back if you don't need the 3rd row seat
if you can tweak up the engine

ripper
10th April 2012, 07:31 PM
probably new seats at GQ's comfort is like riding a bull

Interesting that you say that.
After my father did a trip in a friend's GU recently (and it's only done about 55,000 Km's), he commented on how much better the ride in our GQ is, and it's done almost 250,000. Our seats look original, and I think the springs are too, as it sits just a bit lower than the factory specs for height.
Maybe it was just that the GU tyres were pumped up too much for how much load they had, but dad said it was an uncomfortable trip.

Maxhead
11th April 2012, 05:46 AM
Interesting that you say that.
After my father did a trip in a friend's GU recently (and it's only done about 55,000 Km's), he commented on how much better the ride in our GQ is, and it's done almost 250,000. Our seats look original, and I think the springs are too, as it sits just a bit lower than the factory specs for height.