PDA

View Full Version : tyre on a tight budget

luvpsi
31st March 2012, 09:55 PM
hey guys im fairly new to the 4wd side of things. i just got a GQ patrol with a td42 which is pretty much stock. im looking at doing a 2" lift and fitting some decent tyres. im going to get 15x8 rims however after all of this im going to be a bit tight on money. its going to be a daily with a bit of weekend off road fun. main types of off road will be sand and muddy terrain. mainly sand as i like to do a bit of fishing. what tyre would you suggest on a tight budget. i heard either nexen or sumitomo are quite good on a budget

AB
1st April 2012, 07:24 AM
Tyres are a funny one mate. If you go too cheap then you'll just end up needing to buy another set in after 30,000km's, etc.

For a mix of mud and sand I would try my best to save up and grab some BF muddies mate which will cost a lot but will last a long time.

Hopefully others can comment on Nexen's and Sumitomo's mate.

luvpsi
1st April 2012, 12:13 PM
cheers mate but yeah i need tyres real soon as they are fairly low on tread

Jordan.mathisen
2nd April 2012, 05:15 PM
Have you looked in second hand tires? i got a set of 4 35" super swampers with at least 3/4 tread for $1000 when they retail at about $750 a tire brand new

BigMav
2nd April 2012, 08:26 PM
Mate I wouldn't be afraid of trying out the nexens or sumitomo. A lot of people will talk badly of the cheaper tyres but at the end of the day it is the ratings that are stamped on the side of the tyre that matter. If they match up with the big brands I say go for it. If you're doing light to medium offroad a set of 33" tyres and a 2" lift I reckon is just about perfect. Throw a locker on the front and you're ready for tougher tracks. What sort of coin you been quoted? I'm gunna be needing another set soon enough. As already said second hand is also a good option and tyres can be regularly found on the net with very little use for a good price.

BigMav
2nd April 2012, 08:31 PM